My World – Murphy’s Haystacks

 Visit other My World Tuesday blogs HERE

The west coast of South Australia is (IMNSHO) one of the most beautiful places on earth. It faces onto the Great Australian Bight and the Great Southern Ocean. It is hard for me to pick a favourite place. Starting with Coffin Bay in the south, right up to and even past Ceduna in the north, the west coast of Eyre Peninusla is the home to some of Australias best surfing and fishing beaches, unsurpassed wildlife and pristine waters. It is also home to what is locally known as Murphy’s Haystacks.

Located just south of Streaky Bay, these inselbergs are formed from pink Hiltaba granite that is about 1500 million years old. It is estimated that they have been in their present form for about 100,000 years. These things are huge, those are my kids crawling around on them for perspective.

 

The weather has been weird. It can’t seem to make up it’s mind wheather it should be hot or cold. Daytime temps have hovered between 30C and 40C but the nights are getting cooler. And guess why there isn’t a picture from the hill? I only had a short space of time to get the photo today and when I finally had time – it was raining!! Yes raining. Well, sort of raining. There was wet stuff not only coming form the sky, but it was also making little puddles on the ground. It wasn’t much (2.2mm or nearly 9/100 of an inch) but it did bring that wonderful smell you get after rain. Of course it just made it very humid this afternoon – but hey beggers can’t be choosers.

This is where the picture should be, but it’s not.

Monday 2nd March. Max Temp: 28C, Min Temp: 15C,
Rainfall: 2.2mm, Days since rain: (until today, 78)

10 responses to “My World – Murphy’s Haystacks

  1. These are really cool… very interesting. Near where I grew up in Missouri (USA) we had something similar that were called “Elephant Rocks.” It has been so long since I was there that I can’t remember if they were this big or not.

  2. The rock formations are incredible. I love the shots where you get the scale with your kids crawling on them. The weather where I live has been weird too.

  3. They look like sculptures…and I guess they are, made by nature. I hope the rain didn’t make you feel too hot and sticky. Rain is goooood. 😉

  4. That’s way out there! How interesting! Not only the formation, but also that it has a german name…
    Cheers, Klaus

  5. GT: That is simply amazing, the children bring the size into perspective. Thanks so much for sharing this from your world. I enjoyed your Monster Trucks below also.

  6. Wow, these are cool, great shots and post.

  7. I LOVE rock formations! Thanks for sharing!
    Warm greetings from West Africa,
    Esther

  8. Beautiful photos of very remarkable rock formations! Very interesting. I should go to the west coast instead of the east coast, where my daughter lives. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Those rocks are amazing and sooo old to, glad you got some rain

Leave a Reply

