My World Tuesday – 2

 
Visit other  My World Tuesday blogs HERE

I missed last weeks entry (damn), but I have decided to show of my ‘neighbourhood” to the rest of the world. For me, my ‘neighbourhood’ is Eyre Peninsula. For those that don’t know, EP is the big triangle bit of South Australia. The major towns that form the ‘points’ of the triangel are Port Augusta (in the East) Ceduna (in the west) and Port Lincoln (in the south).

Todays photo was taken only about 17km from my home in January last year. In January of 2007, it rained. That is a sentence in itself…. our anuual rainfall is about 10 inches and we have only had 8 inches this year so far. Anyway, it rained so much, that the major highway that connects the eastern half of australia with the west was cut for nearly 24 hours. This photo is the driveway to a friends house after the local dam burst. It took nearly 2 weeks for most of the bigger puddles to disappear.

The other thing that I wanted to do for this Meme was show the same scene every week. Not the same photo. So I will take a photo on Monday at midday (or thereabouts) and post it with a snapshot of the last 24 hours weather The photo is taken from the local lookout

The view from my hill this week:

Monday 27th Oct. Max Temp: 25C, Min Temp: 1C, Rainfall: 0mm

16 responses to “My World Tuesday – 2

  1. Sorry to hear that your road was flooded. Good luck to your weekly project!

  2. OMG!.. Dam burst! make a great pic.

  3. I enjoy visiting http://outbacktania.blogspot.com/ because of her pictures of the same sort of area.

  4. Great to see how another state of Australia is living right now! These shots are both amazing tgo me!

  5. Thank you for the wonderful tour. This 2nd week of meme really makes us appreciate the many places that we don’t usually see or ever had a chance to visit like the one you showed me in this post. Hope you get to have time to check my world too. Another great job and more to come in the coming weeks.

  6. Scarry with a dam bursting. We haven’t had that sort of rain in years.
    Hope your neighbour had other reserves.
    Am I right in assuming that is Arno bay I see? If so, we probably have common acquaintances.

  7. Bad the dam burst but great photo opportunity

  8. There has been really wet8| Beautiful place:)

  9. Very interesting and great photos.

  10. I am looking forward to seeing the changes in the view each week!

    Your rain is like ours. We get about 8 inches a year. If it rains more than 1/2″ at a time, we usually have flooding.

  11. Thank you for the lovely tour, very nice. It’s been raining for days here in New York USA.

  12. Followed your links from My World, how cool is this to travel all over and see all kinds of wonderful places. Thanks for sharing your wet and dry views.

  13. That is a lot of rain water. The area is pretty. I have always wanted to visit Australia …. for now I will enjoy the places this meme takes me!
    Thanks for visiting my portion of the world.

  14. A vast scenery. Looking forward to see the change in your pictures. A great idea 🙂

  15. Good idea! Let’s see how it pans out! Thyough I wouldn’t mind seeing more of these parts!
    Cheers, Klaus

  16. Great idea. I look forward to seeing your weekly shot. I do that monthly from my bedroom window. It’s been interesting to see the seasons change.

Leave a Reply

