SWF #14 or I almost missed it

The weekend has kind of snuck up on me this week. In fact, it is Saturday morning as I write this. You know, those weeks that you spend never quite sure of what day it is because they are all rolling by so fast. Anyhoo, on to todays Skywatch Saturday post.

Last summer we had some spectacular electrical storms. They never really ended in rain, even though the clouds were big and thick. It’s hard to remember a decent amount of rain falling, I fear that this drought will go on for a while.

Anyway, I have never been particularly good at catching lightning. I tend to just sit on the back verandah and snap continuously hoping to fluke a nice photo. This particular night, we didn’t get any real individual strikes, just lighning within the clouds that lit up the whole sky.

You can catch more Skywatch photos from all over the world here.

11 responses to “SWF #14 or I almost missed it

  1. That is one intriguing photograph! Thank you for sharing

  2. ametaphysicalnature

    Very “striking”. Beautiful color too!

  3. Pretty cool – even without lightning!
    Well done!
    Cheers, Klaus

  4. A very moody shot! 🙂 Great one!

  5. That sure is one dramatic sky.

  6. Reminds me of that old song about “When the deep purple falls…” Nice shot!

  7. You have caught the back lighting very well. It’s a bit spooky though.

  8. It’s spooky and beautiful!

  9. Yes, lightning is difficult to catch! I’ve tried. Your photo is lovely anyway. Greetings from Iowa.

  10. WOW!!! I’ve never-ever seen a sky coloured like that! That’s an awesome capture, be proud! thanks for visiting my blog 🙂

  11. Oh those clouds are very dramatic! I have never had luck catching lightening either and I have tried too! Thanks for dropping in on my sunset skywatch!

Leave a Reply

