SWF No.13 or Spring has Sprung

“Spring has sprung, the grass is riz. I wonder where the birdies iz?”

This is one of my favourite places on Eyre Peninsula. I’m not going to tell you where it is cos it’s a secret. A natural soak (“waterhole”) in an otherwise barren area. It was part of an old stock route and drovers would often stop here to feed and water the sheep.

The old gum tree is more than likely hundreds of years old. While we were there on Sunday, I sat at the bottom of one of the trees and took this photo looking up. Not a cloud in the sky.

Click here to check out the other photos from around the world on the Skywatch Homepage.

21 responses to “SWF No.13 or Spring has Sprung

  1. Two great shots for SWF. Thank you for joining this week 🙂

  2. Birdies, waterhole and old gumtree, That must be Australia, where spring is on its way, while we are facing autumn rain. I spent my holiday in Cooktown in July and August, so I dedicated my SW post and ABC posts to Oz.

  3. These pics are so beautiful! And that old man gum tree is certainly a fascinating character!

  4. great photo’s that sky is so blue

    Gill in Canada

  5. I love that first photo.. the character of the tree matching with the blue sky… it’s so beautiful!

    My SWF are posted here and here. Hope you can drop by if you have the time. Happy weekends!

  6. That tree has seen a few years and a bush fire or two. Love the Auzzie bush.
    Andamooka ceased to be scenic when some of the operators brought in heavy machinery and picked out every speck under ultra violet light. Noodling was fun after rain and not totally in vain. How things have changed.

  7. I how I miss this tree – here we have coconuts and bananas !!! They just don’t cut it I’m afraid!!!

    Thanks for the memories.

  8. Wonderful pictures!

  9. BEAUTIFUL PHOTOS 🙂
    have a nice weekend!!

  10. Spring – what is that? 😉

    Great pictures!

  11. These are very beautiful.Love the clear blue sky!Thank you for your comments on my blog!

  12. Great pictures! 🙂
    Lovely blue.
    Beautiful captures.

  13. It’s a beautiful place, and I so love the sky seen through the treetops!

  14. Hello
    Amazing even the similarity of our idea to take the photos.
    I went to a forest reserve in my town where did these photos on 08/10/08, with the purpose of participating in Sky Watch Friday.
    Very good that we live in one world.
    I love your photos and found his bird.
    By

  15. Just love that first shot.

  16. Really great shots. Love the photos. What stories the old tree could tell.

  17. Love the blue skies and your little poem too. Here in Seattle it’s mostly pretty gray as we head into fall. Thanks for two great shots. I’ve posted a SWF shot too, so come look if you have time.

  18. Very cool tree – it has lots of character.

  19. It’s so weird to read about Spring when we are just settling in for another cold and grey winter here in Vancouver Canada!! Your posts make me laugh – I’ve been enjoying them.

Leave a Reply

