Five Ways Blogging has changed my life

I have been tagged by Wendy to participate in this Meme. It’s the first time I’ve been tagged by anyone – so please bear with me while I muddle my way through this.

The rules for this meme are below.  L.L. Barkat created this meme, “Five Ways Blogging Has Changed My Life.”  Read to the end to see if you have been tagged!

Here are five ways blogging has changed my life:

1. LEARN: I’ve learnt HTML! Yes, I have always wanted to learn but never had a reason. While it’s not been necessary to learn (because WordPress is WYSIWYG) , when I have wanted to change widgets in either mine or ACW’s blog it has been extremely useful.

2. PEOPLE: I have been priveleged to be let into different peoples lives. Some of whom I have stalked and some of whom I’ve just merely passed by.

3. PLACES: I have been able to travel without leaving my desk (except for my trip to Singapore earlier this year). I would never have “visited” some of these places if it weren’t for blogging.

4.  TIME: My only real negative comment. I spend too much time reading blogs. I’m a very undisciplined person. I need to learn to switch off. 

5. LITERACY: I can’t write for quids. I have never been able to write. At least that is what I have always been led to believe. I failed english in year 11 and 12. (But back then it was compulsory to do English – so I had no choice). Don’t get me wrong, I’m far from illiterate. I can read just fine. I am even a bit of a nazi about spelling and grammar,  but I just can’t seem to string 2 words together when I write. I freeze when I see a blank page. I get quite sweaty and nervous. Eventually I begin to panic. It took me 18 months to write a 6 page assignment for my counselling course. Blogging has been a gentle way for me to get over this thought that I can’t do it. I have also had to be more open. Most people who know me in person would say that I’m an extrovert. But I don’t particularly like sharing myself with others. I am essentially a private person and writing has made me confront this.

Here are the rules (L.L. Barkat)

1. Write about 5 specific ways blogging has affected you, either positively or negatively.
2. link back to the person who tagged you
3. link back to this parent post (I’m not so much interested in generating links, but rather in tracking the meme so I can perhaps do a summary post later on that looks at patterns and interesting discoveries.)
4. tag a few friends or five, or none at all
5. post these rules— or just have fun breaking them

Here are my few TAGS:

Lightening

Sundry

MagnetoBoldToo

 

One response to “Five Ways Blogging has changed my life

  1. Love the one about travel. Blogging really does open up the world!

Leave a Reply

